A Node Crossing and A Total Lunar Eclipse

   During the early hours of January 31st 2018 at 18:36 UT (1:36 pm CST) the full Moon will cross the plane of the ecliptic moving north – its ascending node. At 3 UT on the 31st (10 pm CST 30 January) the Moon reached its full phase. When the time of full phase is this close to the time of a node crossing it can only mean one thing – a total lunar eclipse.
   Moonset at my location is 7:28 am CST meaning that according to the data table below I will only see a partially eclipsed Moon as it sets. The further west one is across the United States of America the more of the partial eclipse and beginnings of the totality will be seen as the Moon sets. To find out the time of moon set for your location use the ephemera at the U.S. Navy Observatory web site.
   This map showing the extent of the eclipse that could be seen across the U.S.A. is from the Hermit Eclipse web site

   
   
Lunar Eclipse Stages

Penumbral eclipse begins:	10:51:15 UT  -  5:51 am CST
Partial eclipse begins:	        11:48:27 UT  -  6:48 am CST
Total eclipse begins:	        12:51:47 UT  -  7:51 am CST
Maximum eclipse:	        13:29:50 UT  -  8:29 am CST
Total eclipse ends:	        14:07:51 UT  -  9:07 am CST
Partial eclipse ends:	        15:11:11 UT  -  10:11 am CST
Penumbral eclipse ends:	        16:08:27 UT  -  11:08 am CST