September Perigee Moon Is the 3rd Super Moon

8sep-apogee_moon    Our Moon orbits around the Sun with the Earth and from our perspective on the Earth the Moon appears to circle around the Earth, however in reality the Moon orbits the Sun together with the Earth*.
   The 13.5 day old waxing gibbous Moon reaches perigee this month on Monday 8 September at 3:34 UT (Sunday 7 September at 10:34 pm CDT). At that time the Moon will more or less be at a distance of 28.09 Earth diameters (358,389 km or 222,693 miles) from the Earth. This is the 3rd closest that the Moon will come to the Earth during 2014. What makes this one the 3rd closest is that the time between perigee and full Moon is the greatest of all three. This perigee is about 22 hours ahead of the time for full Moon (Tuesday 9 September at 1:38 UT or Monday 8 September at 8:38 pm CDT).

Click on graphic to see it full size.

Click on graphic to see it full size.

   *Click here to read my 2006 Scope on the Sky column “The Real Shape of the Moon’s Orbit”. (PDF)

   Sunday evening the waxing gibbous Moon rises about 2 hours after sunset local time.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
[centup]
Caution: Objects viewed with an optical aid are further than they appear.
   Click here to go to the Qué tal in the Current Skies web site for more observing information for this month.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s