August Perigee Moon Is the Super Moon for this Year

10aug-perigee-moon    Our Moon orbits around the Sun with the Earth and from our perspective on the Earth the Moon appears to circle around the Earth, however in reality the Moon orbits the Sun together with the Earth*.
   The 14.8 day old waxing gibbous Moon reaches perigee this month on Sunday 10 August at 17:48 UT (12:48 pm CDT). At that time the Moon will more or less be at a distance of 27.98 Earth diameters (356,542 km or 221,545 miles) from the Earth. This is the closest that the Moon will come to the Earth during 2014. What makes this one sort of unique is that full Moon occurs 22 minutes later at 18:10 UT (1:10 pm CDT). This full Moon is the Super Moon of the Year.

   *Click here to read my 2006 Scope on the Sky column “The Real Shape of the Moon’s Orbit”. (PDF)

Click on graphic to see it full size.

Click on graphic to see it full size.

 
  Sunday evening the full Moon rises shortly after sunset local time.

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
[centup]
Caution: Objects viewed with an optical aid are further than they appear.
   Click here to go to the Qué tal in the Current Skies web site for more observing information for this month.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s