January’s 2nd Perigee Moon

jan30perigee   Our Moon orbits around the Sun with the Earth and from our perspective on the Earth the Moon appears to circle around the Earth, however in reality the Moon orbits the Sun together with the Earth.
   This month the 28.92 day old waning crescent Moon reaches perigee for the second time this month, Thursday 30 January, at 9:52 UT (3:52 am CST). At that time the Moon will more or less be at a distance of 27.99 Earth diameters (356,774 km or 221, 664 miles) from the Earth.
   The Moon reaches the new phase about 11 hours later at 21:39 UT (3:39 pm CST).

   
   
   
Caution: Objects viewed with an optical aid are further than they appear.
   Click here to go to the Qué tal in the Current Skies web site for more observing information for this month.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s