Saturn, Full Moon, An Eclipse

saturn-moon   Thursday evening on 25 April the full Moon will be close to the planet Saturn, passing within about 4 degrees from the ringed planet. Both will be close enough to be viewed within the field of view of binoculars.
   Also earlier that day the upper edge of the full Moon will pass briefly through the Earth’s inner and darker umbral shadow causing a very partial lunar eclipse, as the banner graphic shows. Maximum eclipse is at 3:07 p.m. CDT (20:07 UT) and will last less than 30 minutes. The penumbral portion, when the Moon first enters the outer shadow, is at 1:03 p.m. CDT (18:03 UT). Use the NASA map to determine if any of the eclipse happens when the Moon is above the horizon where you live. For example in my time zone the eclipse will be over before moonrise.
   During the time before and following its brief encounter with the umbral shadow the Moon will be passing through the much fainter outer shadow, the penumbra. Even in dark skies noticing the slight decrease in the Moon’s brightness as it passes through the penumbra is hard to detect.

   Click here to go to the NASA Eclipse web site for more information and a map showing where the eclipse may be visible from.

      Click here to go to the Qué tal in the Current Skies web site for more observing information.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.